Maine for Christmas and New Year, New Plans

January 20, 2016 § Leave a comment

I can’t believe it’s already more than halfway through January. I wrote earlier about the Christmas crush, and it certainly delivered. We were busier than ever at the shop, and we must’ve sold more small, gifty items than ever before. I’m grateful for our busy seasons, but Christmas can be exhausting. With Christmas falling on a Friday this year, I decided to close the shop through the entire weekend and spend some time with our families.

Madison and I spent the night of the 23rd at my Mom’s house for a lovely dinner party. She and my stepdad hosted, and my brother Colin, my dad, and a few others were able to make it. Dinner was delicious, my mom’s house looked beautiful and we exchanged a handful of gifts.

IMG_4893

Not the best pic, but my mom’s china cabinet looked very festive with lots of greenery my stepdad had cut the day before.

On Christmas Eve day, Madison and I (along with our dog, Sylvia) did a few last-minute errands and got out of town and headed up to Maine. The weather had been so unseasonably warm that week of Christmas, and it led to an extremely foggy commute up north.

Processed with VSCOcam with f1 preset

Dude on a bicycle on 12/23!

Processed with VSCOcam with a8 preset

This was the parking lot at a rest stop in New Hampshire. It was twice as foggy as this looks, if you can believe it.

I love going up to Maine where Madison grew up. I love my in-laws a ton, and I love where they live just as much. It’s a little town called Turner about three hours from Boston.

Processed with VSCOcam with a8 preset

No joke–this is the view from Madison’s childhood front yard.

Processed with VSCOcam with a10 preset

That little ribbon of fog was picture perfect.

Madison’s mom made us so much delicious food, and we ate and exchanged gifts and took a couple of small to midsize hikes along the way. It was fantastic.

IMG_4939

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

This little waterfall was just a few minutes up the street from the house. Madison, her dad, sister, and I took the dog for a walk up this way on Christmas Day.

IMG_4938

I had to climb down for some better shots of the waterfall. It was great.

The next day we did a 3.5 mile hike around the Androscoggin River Trail.

Processed with VSCOcam with c3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Madison and Me 🙂

The most amazing part about our 3.5 mile hike? Madison’s sister Taylor came along, less than four weeks after she underwent successful heart transplant surgery. The initial hill we had to climb was a bit dicey and she said she wasn’t sure if she could make it, but we took a break and she was able to soldier on. She’s been doing so well and getting stronger every day. It really made for an awesome Christmas memory, seeing how far she’s come this year.

In the title of this post, I wrote new year, new plans. Why? Because I am really looking forward to getting back into vintage and furniture and the large pieces that are my passion in this business. Sure we will always carry small gift type items, but maybe not as much as we did this past Christmas season. My favorite part of doing what I do is finding those extra special pieces that tell their own story, and that simply doesn’t exist with lots of the smaller vendor-ordered items. This means you can expect lots more vintage and antique Americana, with a stronger emphasis on furniture than in the past. In addition, I’m excited to plan a lot more extra-curricular events at the shop in 2016.

So stay tuned, and feel free to give me a shout (justin [at] pioneergoodsco [dot] com) if there’s something you are looking or would like to see in the shop. I am always on the hunt and always on the lookout.

In the meantime, we’re offering another one of our popular Chalk Paint Basics workshops on February 11 where I teach you how to use Chalk Paint and refinish furniture like I do. Click the link for more details. I’d love to see ya there.

Processed with VSCOcam with c3 preset

 

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Maine for Christmas and New Year, New Plans at PIONEER GOODS.

meta

