The Boring Beginning

July 10, 2015 § 2 Comments

Since I opened Pioneer Goods Co. just over a year ago, I swore that I would blog. Well, I didn’t. Part of the problem was starting a new blog from scratch (I used to blog over at Brush & Pail) and getting off the schneid proved to be more difficult than I imagined. It seems silly to just blog about any old thing without doing some sort of introduction first. So, in a mediocre attempt to get something up and on the internet, I’d like to share a bit about me, my shop, and what I’m all about.

I got into this racket because my interior designer mom, Amy, of the fabulous Maison Decor began painting furniture and taught me everything she knew. Soon enough she would open her first retail store, and when she asked, I decided to follow, opening a second Maison Decor location in the South End of Boston in 2012. As the name implies, Maison Decor was rooted in French style as is my mom’s fashion. My brother Colin also worked with us in those early days, but left to begin his career as a project manager for a big construction company.

ma

fam

The more I started to make my mark and find my style, our second Maison Decor outpost had a French sounding name but a distinctly vintage American look and feel inside. We closed that shop in 2013, opened another Maison Decor in Reading, MA and were humming right along while I casually browsed real estate listings in hopes of leaving to open up my own shop, with a new name to reflect my bent toward all things Americana. I found a spot at 764 Tremont Street in April of 2014, and Pioneer Goods Co. was born.

The spot we settled on had a lot to like, but it wasn’t without challenges. You think Tremont Street in the South End, you think hustle and bustle in one of the best, trendiest neighborhoods in the city. While that remains true, it isn’t really the case as far down as we are at 764. I knew that going in, and I also knew that there had been lots of turnover in this particular location. We took the chance and turned this:

IMG_6443IMG_6436

Into this:

IMG_0917IMG_0980 IMG_0851 IMG_0667

I still paint furniture (though not nearly as much as I used to), and we sell home goods and gifts with that rustic Americana vibe I keep referring to. In addition to that, I offer interior design services and sell the Chalk Paint that we use to refinish the furniture you see in the shop. I’ve also moved a bit more modern than I used to be, incorporating mid-century modern pieces here and there as well. Things have been good and about what I expected, and I hope foot traffic and awareness continue to rise in our neck of the woods. We also were named Boston’s Best Home Boutique by the Improper Bostonian this month so that was quite the honor!

I married my wife, Madison last October and she just received her Master’s in Public Health from Northeastern University. I couldn’t be prouder. (I also like to joke that one of us needs a real job, and it ain’t me)

IMG_4839

141004_Madison_Justin_721

Madison is as camera-shy as they come, but I plan to include her in this blog more than she realizes. Hehee.

While we don’t have any kids just yet, we do have the world’s greatest dog. Seriously. Her name is Sylvia, and she’s a Schnoodle (Schnauzer Poodle mix) who just turned 3. She has such a darling disposition and is so damn lovable.

IMG_7594 IMG_7061IMG_9625

We are also excited to be in the process of moving into a lovely three bedroom home in Roslindale as we speak! My sister-in-law Taylor will be moving in with us, too, and her story warrants and entire novel to properly do it justice.

Processed with VSCOcam with b2 preset

Taylor had open heart surgery to implant an LVAD (heart pump, in layman’s terms) to help her failing heart work properly this past winter. She is also currently awaiting a heart transplant. To say there were lots of ups and downs would be to do a disservice to how seriously emotional Taylor’s journey has been for her and for us. Thankfully, after some trying times and post-surgery complications, Taylor’s LVAD is working great and she feels better than she has in a long time. We are so happy to be moving in together! Taylor has such an amazing spirit and has kept everybody grounded this whole time. I am so grateful to have her as a sister-in-law.

So that’s the brief synopsis of who I am and what I’m about. I thought it might be nice to give you a peek behind the curtain of a guy and his shop and family. Let’s hope I just keep up with it.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to The Boring Beginning

  • Donna says:

    I have followed this journey of yours through your mother. I know she is very proud, justly! I think this is just the beginning of some really great things for your professional career. I love your style! I also keep Taylor in my daily prayers and thoughts! Keep up the great work and I look forwardto watching the journey.

    Like

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Boring Beginning at PIONEER GOODS.

meta

